What Our Members Think

    positive review  My children and I have trained with Sensei Aaron for a couple of years now and we enjoy it very much. Aaron is a very good teacher, he demonstrates techniques and is open to questions, not only on the technical aspects but also the historical and philosophical aspects of Karate and related martial art systems. The club is family orientated and has a wide range of students from school age beginners through to seasoned black belts, all of whom train carefully and proficiently, with discipline and respect. Highly recommended, it’s a great club!

    thumb David Riney
    May 13, 2019

    positive review  My little boy started karate about 6 months ago and is thriving. Sensei Aaron is fantastic and has patience beyond measure....not many people can persuade Noah to sit still for 5 minutes let alone teach him to meditate!! The seniors are also incredibly hard working and kind. Newcastle Goju-Ryu Karate 🥋 is highly recommended!

    thumb Rachael Wade
    May 11, 2019

    positive review  Both I and my daughter have got so much out of being part of this club. Sensei Aaron is a truly great teacher and the atmosphere is great too. Friendly, fun, but underpinned by respect and discipline. I couldn't recommend it more!

    thumb Caspar Hewett
    May 8, 2019

    positive review  My little boy has been coming here for almost a year and loves it. He's doing so well, Sensei Aaron is amazing, so patient and has an excellent way of teaching so that even the really little ones understand. He has a great team too who are always willing to help. Lewis is learning the best form of defence but also the importance of respect too. I cannot recommend Aaron and his team enough.

    thumb Gemma Arkley
    May 7, 2019

    positive review  My son started learning Karate at 5 years of age.. Apart from Karate he learnt discipline and determination and team spirit.

    thumb Purbasha Pakhira
    May 6, 2019

    positive review  I've held national titles and trained internationally and with senior instructors where I met Aaron. It's very clear he's got tons of ability and spirit and I see it clearly in his students. Well worth making the effort for if you're in the area

    thumb Charlotte Frejya-Richwoods
    May 1, 2019

    positive review  My 3 boys have all joined this club and have enjoyed it for many years. Many people think karate is just about fighting but they are wrong, it's much more. They teach life lessons such as respect, discipline, meditation to name a few.... All the team of coaches are supportive, anx make it fun to learn for the younger children. I looked at a few clubs in the area observing the different styles but liked how Aaron ran the club. GIVE IT A TRY U WON'T BE DISSAPOINTED

    thumb Andrew Heads
    November 30, 2018

    positive review  Cannot recommend this class enough. Sensei and his staff are fantastic with the kids and the kids clearly enjoy their classes. Never seen Oliver sit still for so long! Thank you!

    thumb Lyndsey Bee
    November 24, 2018

    5 star review  Amazing! My daughter attends a few times a week and loves it. Before karate she had never shown any interest in any sports, Aaron and his team are awesome with both young and old attendees, full of encouragement and really have helped massively with my daughters confidence, the club members are encouraged to socialise together if they wish and this I feel provides an extension and more personal approach to the training, well done guys you are a credit to the practice!

    thumb Toria Swales
    February 22, 2018

    5 star review  My daughter has been having lessons with sensei Aaron for over a year now and loves them hopefully many more years to come.

    thumb Donna Dixon
    February 22, 2018

    5 star review  Cannot thank sensei Aaron & his seniors enough. Their hard work & his dedication to his students is exemplary & it is obvious how much enjoyment his students get from their training. I am so pleased we chose to send our middle son here, his classes are helping no end with his concentration & discipline, & he is keeping fit & healthy too. Aaron is always happy to listen & offer help & advice, being part of his classes is more like being part of a larger family. We are looking forward to watching our son's journey in karate & introducing his siblings too.

    thumb Ray Blythe
    February 1, 2018

    5 star review  Perfect place for young and old to exercise body and mind. Very good teachers and a relaxed environment, but with a professional attitude. Strongly recommend for anyone of any age!

    thumb Christian Johansson
    January 9, 2018

    5 star review  Fabulous standard of training. The students are always polite and perform at a very high standard.

    thumb Nicole Dawson
    January 4, 2018

    5 star review  From March until July 2016, I had the utmost pleasure to train with this club, while attending a language school and doing an internship. After having had tried out another club in Newcastle, I got in touch with Aaron, did a trial session and stayed there. During this time, I enjoyed immensely the camaraderie of the people and got to know great people not only in Newcastle but also in Manchester. Aaron runs a tight ship, encourages all students and is easy to talk to. Thanks to his formidable abilities as a teacher, his students are technically well-rounded and possess a ferocious fighting spirit. The social activities like the summerly beach training a real plus. The belts are earned not given. I hope to come back sometime.

    thumb Daniel Ehrhardt
    January 2, 2018

    5 star review  Excellent Sensei!

    thumb Chantal Bruinhof-Straver
    December 30, 2017

    5 star review  Love taking my grandson and granddaughter to their karate lessons Aaron is a excellent teacher karate helps the kids with their concentration and keeps them fit my grandkids love going they have been going for 2 years and they will continue to go until there much older

    thumb Sharon Froud
    December 30, 2017

    5 star review  Couldn't ask for more. My daughter became interested at one of Aaron's after school clubs in 2013. She then took up the free trial, loved it and has never looked back. She now attends classes 3 times a week, has achieved Junior 3rd kyu brown belt and is an after school club helper for little dragons. Karate has helped develop her concentration, focus and self confidence. So glad she is part of the newcastle goju-ryu karate family.

    thumb Lisa Mik
    February 12, 2017

    5 star review  Great Karate Club! Kids are really enjoying it and making really good progress! Great Sensei and awesome instructors!

    thumb Adjami Da Silva
    October 20, 2016

    5 star review  Welcoming & friendly atmosphere, yet, professional, successful and value adding. There is a place for everyone & age. Very highly recommended

    thumb Karim Sorour
    July 3, 2016

    5 star review  This is a very good club if you want your children to not only learn karate but also to learn some valuable lessons in values. The club also offers children a chance to work with different races and religion and there are no barriers everyone is equal. Aaron is also a nice family orientated guy and makes time to listen to parents and children alike we will miss the club very much our boys have taken a lot away with them. Thanks and good luck.✅✅✅✅✅

    thumb David Roberts
    July 16, 2015

    5 star review  Open and friendly atmosphere with fantastic students and a knowledgeable and enthusiastic teacher. You can tell Aaron truly cares for his students and this is reflected in the respect given to him by his students - but most clearly by the smiles seen all around the class! I've always found his lessons to be fun and down to earth, both for the kids and the adults. I look forward to training with him again in the future and cannot recommend him enough.

    thumb Yaz S.A.
    May 21, 2015

    5 star review  My son has been doing karate with Aaron since he was 5yrs old. He's 8 now and still loves it as much now as he did back then. He's learning some great skills; not only in self defense, but other life skills which help to set these kids up with a good mindset for life. Aaron is really great with the kids; patient and understanding and attends to each of their individual needs. But what's more is that they always have fun and every week there is something different so classes don't get monotonous. Aaron also has some fab helpers in the classes who have worked their way up from a white belt so understand the learning curve that the younger ones are going through. A lovely atmosphere and a very welcoming environment.

    thumb Zoe Ronald
    March 31, 2015

    5 star review  Completely age-appropriate, fun introduction to the fascinating world of karate. Sensei Aaron keeps the kids engaged and focused. Always a class full of smiling faces and lots of fun to watch from a parents perspective!

    thumb Joanna Feeley
    March 10, 2015

    5 star review  My daughter loves the classes and it's very positive that so many girls attend.

    thumb Mark Stutt
    March 8, 2015

    5 star review  This club is simply wonderful: the children are supportive of each other and incredibly fair. They genuinely root and care for each other! This is all thanks to our Sensei Aaron Milan-Vega. His teaching style is so conducive to sportsmanship, respect and physical and mental development that the kids respond wonderfully to him. My 7 and 10 year old sons have been with Aaron over 4 years now and simply love it. And so do I!

    thumb Laura Leonardo
    March 8, 2015

    5 star review  Goju-Ryu Karate is a brilliant, well run club. The development of young children is superb. The facilities are first class and everyone is made to feel welcome.

    thumb Simon Walsh
    March 7, 2015

    5 star review  I am very lucky to have a group of dedicated students who just want to enjoy their martial arts journey. I also have some fantastic coaches who I couldn't do this without. Thank you to all of the parents for supporting us.

    thumb Aaron Milan-Vega
    February 12, 2015

    5 star review  El mejor profesor y la mejor academia d newcastle!!! Pasaros por alli y verlo es cierto. Un chico muy responsable y disfruta mucho con su trabajo. A que esperan para ir a verlo!!!

    thumb Maite Milan Rosado
    February 11, 2015

    5 star review  My little boy, 6, has been coming to the class for a couple of months now and he absolutely loves it! Aaron is a brilliant instructor and role model for all of the children, and the respect he commands in the dojo is impressive. The classes are so much fun, we always leave smiling! I would recommend this class to anyone!

    thumb Louise Hunter
    February 5, 2015

    5 star review  This is a brilliant club, full of respectful kids, fun, laughter and life lessons, my 10 year old son has been training for 4 years and still rushes to get ready twice a week. Aaron is a fantastic coach and role model for the kids, I'd definitely recommend it to anyone looking to take up karate.

    thumb Liz Murphy
    February 3, 2015

    5 star review  My 9 year old daughter has been going to this class for a few years now and loves it. Aaron is an excellent instructor and brings out the best in his students.

    thumb Russell Purchon
    February 3, 2015

    5 star review  Aaron is a brillant instructor all the children love him and his classes are fanastic X

    thumb Michelle Nott
    February 3, 2015

    5 star review  An excellent club to train with. Classes are held in a great facility by Aaron who has bags of enthusiasm. Myself and my son occasionally travel 40 miles to train with the group.

    thumb Bob Arnett
    October 7, 2014

    5 star review  Fantastic coach would highly recommend the club for any local children and adults in the area. Great development of FUNdamental skills in children which can be deployed in a range of other sports. Classes great for fitness and self-defence along with a range of other skills.

    thumb Paul Lineham
    June 4, 2014

    5 star review  Aaron is a fantastic teacher and is great with the kids.

    thumb Amanda Gunning
    September 5, 2013

    5 star review  Aaron is a fantastic instructor - full of enthusiasm and knowledge - I would definitely send my kids to train with him if I lived closer, and also we train with him when we get the chance to which is great.

    thumb Anita Rose Faulkner
    June 2, 2013
© 2006-2019 Newcastle Goju-Ryu Karate Academy. All Rights Reserved.