What Our Members Think

    positive review  I can not recommend them enough.

    Rachel Tata Avatar Rachel Tata
    January 11, 2021

    positive review  Superb - brilliant teachers that are inspirational. Can't recommend highly enough.

    Ailsa Coverdale Avatar Ailsa Coverdale
    May 7, 2020

    positive review  Aaron is great with kids, as most of the reviews attest, and he just gets it right. He always achieves that nice balance between hard work, discipline, character, and fun. It's obvious in so many ways that he cares about his students in and out of the dojo, and one of his big strengths is how he's created a place for serious practice in an environment that is fun, safe, and supportive. His way of adapting to the coronavirus-imposed social distancing phenomenon is exemplary and serves as a worthy model for others. He's turned it into a positive, keeping kids engaged and offering fun "social media" challenges that transform his school from just a dojo to a genuine community. It's great to see. Love his attitude.

    John Schoneboom Avatar John Schoneboom
    May 7, 2020

    positive review  I absolutely love this karate club. Sensei Aaron is a fantastic instructor, very approachable and patient, even if he does take the mickey about my height 🤣 Great atmosphere, and made lots of friends.

    Lynz Brennan Avatar Lynz Brennan
    September 19, 2019

    positive review  My son love going to karate. Sensei Aaron is an amazing teacher, great with the kids, my son leon says ''they do different skills and i love it! ''.🙂

    Laura Wallace Avatar Laura Wallace
    June 20, 2019

    positive review  My children and I have trained with Sensei Aaron for a couple of years now and we enjoy it very much. Aaron is a very good teacher, he demonstrates techniques and is open to questions, not only on the technical aspects but also the historical and philosophical aspects of Karate and related martial art systems. The club is family orientated and has a wide range of students from school age beginners through to seasoned black belts, all of whom train carefully and proficiently, with discipline and respect. Highly recommended, it’s a great club!

    David Riney Avatar David Riney
    May 13, 2019

    positive review  My little boy started karate about 6 months ago and is thriving. Sensei Aaron is fantastic and has patience beyond measure....not many people can persuade Noah to sit still for 5 minutes let alone teach him to meditate!! The seniors are also incredibly hard working and kind. Newcastle Goju-Ryu Karate 🥋 is highly recommended!

    Rachael Wade Avatar Rachael Wade
    May 11, 2019

    positive review  Both I and my daughter have got so much out of being part of this club. Sensei Aaron is a truly great teacher and the atmosphere is great too. Friendly, fun, but underpinned by respect and discipline. I couldn't recommend it more!

    Caspar Hewett Avatar Caspar Hewett
    May 8, 2019

    positive review  My son started learning Karate at 5 years of age.. Apart from Karate he learnt discipline and determination and team spirit.

    Purbasha Pakhira Avatar Purbasha Pakhira
    May 6, 2019

    positive review  I've held national titles and trained internationally and with senior instructors where I met Aaron. It's very clear he's got tons of ability and spirit and I see it clearly in his students. Well worth making the effort for if you're in the area

    Charlotte Frejya-Richwoods Avatar Charlotte Frejya-Richwoods
    May 1, 2019

    positive review  Cannot recommend this class enough. Sensei and his staff are fantastic with the kids and the kids clearly enjoy their classes. Never seen Oliver sit still for so long! Thank you!

    Lyndsey Bee Avatar Lyndsey Bee
    November 24, 2018

    positive review  My daughter has been having lessons with sensei Aaron for over a year now and loves them hopefully many more years to come.

    Donna Dixon Avatar Donna Dixon
    February 22, 2018

    5 star review  Cannot thank sensei Aaron & his seniors enough. Their hard work & his dedication to his students is exemplary & it is obvious how much enjoyment his students get from their training. I am so pleased we chose to send our middle son here, his classes are helping no end with his concentration & discipline, & he is keeping fit & healthy too. Aaron is always happy to listen & offer help & advice, being part of his classes is more like being part of a larger family. We are looking forward to watching our son's journey in karate & introducing his siblings too.

    Ray Blythe Avatar Ray Blythe
    February 1, 2018

    positive review  Perfect place for young and old to exercise body and mind. Very good teachers and a relaxed environment, but with a professional attitude. Strongly recommend for anyone of any age!

    Christian Johansson Avatar Christian Johansson
    January 9, 2018

    positive review  Fabulous standard of training. The students are always polite and perform at a very high standard.

    Nicole Dawson Avatar Nicole Dawson
    January 4, 2018

    positive review  From March until July 2016, I had the utmost pleasure to train with this club, while attending a language school and doing an internship. After having had tried out another club in Newcastle, I got in touch with Aaron, did a trial session and stayed there. During this time, I enjoyed immensely the camaraderie of the people and got to know great people not only in Newcastle but also in Manchester. Aaron runs a tight ship, encourages all students and is easy to talk to. Thanks to his formidable abilities as a teacher, his students are technically well-rounded and possess a ferocious fighting spirit. The social activities like the summerly beach training a real plus. The belts are earned not given. I hope to come back sometime.

    Daniel Ehrhardt Avatar Daniel Ehrhardt
    January 2, 2018

    positive review  Excellent Sensei!

    Chantal Bruinhof-Straver Avatar Chantal Bruinhof-Straver
    December 30, 2017

    positive review  Love taking my grandson and granddaughter to their karate lessons Aaron is a excellent teacher karate helps the kids with their concentration and keeps them fit my grandkids love going they have been going for 2 years and they will continue to go until there much older

    Sharon Froud Avatar Sharon Froud
    December 30, 2017

    5 star review  Great Karate Club! Kids are really enjoying it and making really good progress! Great Sensei and awesome instructors!

    Adjami Da Silva Avatar Adjami Da Silva
    October 20, 2016

    positive review  Welcoming & friendly atmosphere, yet, professional, successful and value adding. There is a place for everyone & age. Very highly recommended

    Karim Sorour Avatar Karim Sorour
    July 3, 2016

    positive review  This is a very good club if you want your children to not only learn karate but also to learn some valuable lessons in values. The club also offers children a chance to work with different races and religion and there are no barriers everyone is equal. Aaron is also a nice family orientated guy and makes time to listen to parents and children alike we will miss the club very much our boys have taken a lot away with them. Thanks and good luck.✅✅✅✅✅

    David Roberts Avatar David Roberts
    July 16, 2015

    positive review  Open and friendly atmosphere with fantastic students and a knowledgeable and enthusiastic teacher. You can tell Aaron truly cares for his students and this is reflected in the respect given to him by his students - but most clearly by the smiles seen all around the class! I've always found his lessons to be fun and down to earth, both for the kids and the adults. I look forward to training with him again in the future and cannot recommend him enough.

    Yaz S.A. Avatar Yaz S.A.
    May 21, 2015

    positive review  My son has been doing karate with Aaron since he was 5yrs old. He's 8 now and still loves it as much now as he did back then. He's learning some great skills; not only in self defense, but other life skills which help to set these kids up with a good mindset for life. Aaron is really great with the kids; patient and understanding and attends to each of their individual needs. But what's more is that they always have fun and every week there is something different so classes don't get monotonous. Aaron also has some fab helpers in the classes who have worked their way up from a white belt so understand the learning curve that the younger ones are going through. A lovely atmosphere and a very welcoming environment.

    Zoe Ronald Avatar Zoe Ronald
    March 31, 2015

    positive review  Completely age-appropriate, fun introduction to the fascinating world of karate. Sensei Aaron keeps the kids engaged and focused. Always a class full of smiling faces and lots of fun to watch from a parents perspective!

    Joanna Feeley Avatar Joanna Feeley
    March 10, 2015

    5 star review  My daughter loves the classes and it's very positive that so many girls attend.

    Mark Stutt Avatar Mark Stutt
    March 8, 2015

    positive review  This club is simply wonderful: the children are supportive of each other and incredibly fair. They genuinely root and care for each other! This is all thanks to our Sensei Aaron Milan-Vega. His teaching style is so conducive to sportsmanship, respect and physical and mental development that the kids respond wonderfully to him. My 7 and 10 year old sons have been with Aaron over 4 years now and simply love it. And so do I!

    Laura Leonardo Avatar Laura Leonardo
    March 8, 2015

    positive review  Goju-Ryu Karate is a brilliant, well run club. The development of young children is superb. The facilities are first class and everyone is made to feel welcome.

    Simon Walsh Avatar Simon Walsh
    March 7, 2015

    positive review  El mejor profesor y la mejor academia d newcastle!!! Pasaros por alli y verlo es cierto. Un chico muy responsable y disfruta mucho con su trabajo. A que esperan para ir a verlo!!!

    Maite Milan Rosado Avatar Maite Milan Rosado
    February 11, 2015

    positive review  My little boy, 6, has been coming to the class for a couple of months now and he absolutely loves it! Aaron is a brilliant instructor and role model for all of the children, and the respect he commands in the dojo is impressive. The classes are so much fun, we always leave smiling! I would recommend this class to anyone!

    Louise Hunter Avatar Louise Hunter
    February 5, 2015

    positive review  This is a brilliant club, full of respectful kids, fun, laughter and life lessons, my 10 year old son has been training for 4 years and still rushes to get ready twice a week. Aaron is a fantastic coach and role model for the kids, I'd definitely recommend it to anyone looking to take up karate.

    Liz Murphy Avatar Liz Murphy
    February 3, 2015

    positive review  My 9 year old daughter has been going to this class for a few years now and loves it. Aaron is an excellent instructor and brings out the best in his students.

    Russell Purchon Avatar Russell Purchon
    February 3, 2015

    positive review  Aaron is a brillant instructor all the children love him and his classes are fanastic X

    Michelle Nott Avatar Michelle Nott
    February 3, 2015

    positive review  An excellent club to train with. Classes are held in a great facility by Aaron who has bags of enthusiasm. Myself and my son occasionally travel 40 miles to train with the group.

    Bob Arnett Avatar Bob Arnett
    October 7, 2014

    positive review  Fantastic coach would highly recommend the club for any local children and adults in the area. Great development of FUNdamental skills in children which can be deployed in a range of other sports. Classes great for fitness and self-defence along with a range of other skills.

    Paul Lineham Avatar Paul Lineham
    June 4, 2014

    positive review  Aaron is a fantastic teacher and is great with the kids.

    Amanda Gunning Avatar Amanda Gunning
    September 5, 2013

    positive review  Aaron is a fantastic instructor - full of enthusiasm and knowledge - I would definitely send my kids to train with him if I lived closer, and also we train with him when we get the chance to which is great.

    Anita Rose Faulkner Avatar Anita Rose Faulkner
    June 2, 2013
© 2006-2021 Newcastle Goju-Ryu Karate Academy. All Rights Reserved.